As many of you who I interact online or over a drink (or two…three) know, I left Puppet. The company and the people are fantastic and very glad of my time there. I now work at Artifact Uprising in Denver, CO. Their products, culture, amazing people, and technology outlook are very attractive to me. Plus, I don’t travel anymore which means I see my wife and daughter every day.

Working at my new outfit meant a return to a kitchen. I was a former Chef of a very busy infrastructure kitchen some years ago and now I am back with a knife. Boy was I rusty! Oh my oh my, have I forgotten my cookbook-making skills! Surely need to read more recipes.

One of my current big projects involve some work with our Chef infrastructure and I couldn’t believe how stuck I was doing the simple task of auto-provisioning. If you are using the open-source version of Chef, usually you use the knife tool to provision machines. While knife is a great tool for managing Chef, I simply couldn’t use it for how dynamic, ever-changing, fast and hipster our infrastructure grows, shrinks and moves. I need to not think about a machine coming up and get provisioned. It has to register by itself.

There are several folks that have written about how to do this using the open-source version of Chef but none of them worked exactly for my setup. This post will show you, very simply what you need to do on your client to get it automatically up and running.

On another post I will detail how to build your own Chef development environment, at least the Xuxo way. For now, this applies to just the client.

Procedure

On a cloud-init, bootstrap script, etc., script the following commands:

Install the chef-client from Chef.io. It will detect your OS:

curl -L https://omnitruck.chef.io/install.sh | sudo bash

Obtain the validation pem from your server and place it somewhere on your client:

echo >/tmp/my-validator.pem 'my_validation_key'

Create a “First Boot” JSON file required by Chef and add the role(s) you want the machine you have:

{ "run_list": [ "my-role" ] }

Create the configuration folders:

mkdir /etc/chef && mkdir /etc/chef/trusted_certs

Create the file /etc/chef/client.rb with the following contents (change url and validator info):

chef_server_url "https://chef-server/organizations/my_organization"
client_fork true
log_location "/var/log/chef/client.log"
validation_client_name "my-validator"
node_name "this-client-node"
trusted_certs_dir "/etc/chef/trusted_certs"
# Do not crash if a handler is missing / not installed yet
begin
rescue NameError => e
 Chef::Log.error e
end

I highlighted in blue the trusted_certs dir because that was key for me to get automatic provisioning going. Obtain the Chef server’s CRT file and place it in that directory.

Finally, run this command on the client to provision and register with your open-source Chef server:

sudo chef-client -j /tmp/first-boot.json --validation_key /tmp/my-validator.pem

Chef will now provision the system and the role will be applied to the node. Script that and you don’t need to be on your Chef workstation provisioning via knife!

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

