After almost a year with Puppet, I finally get to diagram and document how the infrastructure that I use for virtually everything looks like. Since I am a big fan of the movie Videodrome (as shown in the header image!), it is called Xuxodrome. I share it here just in case any of you want to replicate it!

My idea with Xuxodrome is to provide a real, mini datacenter that it is always available and can take real changes, adapt. It is not only used for demos but also for the real hands-on workshops that I do.

Architecture

Xuxodrome can be represented in the following illustration. We will go through each numbered section.

slicenumbers

Breakdown

The environment diagram includes a reference to a master in AWS, but we won’t cover that here as it is external. The only relationship to Xuxodrome is the relationship with my GitHub repository.

  1. The Puppet Enterprise Master. It manages all assets inside Xuxodrome.
  2. Shared Services. A Windows 2012 domain controller, built by Puppet, acts as DNS and Active Directory.
  3. Code Stuff. Puppet’s code-manager is actively retrieving the latest Infrastructure code from a repo in my GitHub site. Every time I commit something, Travis-CI checks it for me to determine how bad of a coder I am.
  4. Traditional Infrastructure. This area has VMs that live and die often. Systems include Windows, RHEL, and Debian.
  5. Modern Infrastructure. Puppet’s Blueshift stuff. CoreOS cluster, Docker engines and Consul backend reside here. Clusters include ELK Stack, Jenkins CI, and other things that I can use for examples. It also provides an Nginx load balancer.
  6. Other. Every now and then I might attach an AIX LPAR from Puppet’s corporate infrastructure or provision VMs using vSphere.

Todo

Convert everything into a HEAT template as the core of Xuxodrome is all on OpenStack. In this fashion, I can rebuild the whole thing push-button!

On part two, I will show you a simple monitor that I run to keep track of some nodes. It is not great, but a good example of some Ruby and some Puppet.

Until then…

One thought on “Xuxodrome: My infrastructure (Part 1)

Leave a Reply

